CASE STUDY Ernsting’s family

Ernsting‘s family was founded in 1967 and today, with more than 1,800 branches and almost 11,000 employees, is one of Germany’s leading clothing and home textiles retailers. The traditional enterprise sells fashion articles, accessories and home textiles for the whole family with a focus on women’s and children’s wear. In 2003, Ernsting‘s family launched its own online store at In addition to classical advertising for the marketing of their brand and products, Ernsting‘s family actively employs the most important online marketing channels, like SEA, affiliate, display and newsletter marketing, and has worked successfully with blueSummit in the area of performance marketing since 2012.


The most effective classical media used by Ernsting‘s family are their catalogs, which, depending on the season, are printed in editions of up to double-figure millions. Every year, more than 30 catalogs with up to 80 pages are distributed in the chain of stores or by various other distribution media. The mission was to increase the reach of the catalogs online and simultaneously raise brand awareness.


For the task of expanding the success of the print catalogs in an online context, blueSummit initially chose Google Catalogs to reproduce the catalog in identical form on the Web. Google Catalogs enables end-customers to browse through catalogs online just as they would with a print version. The marketing of the Ernsting’s family Google Catalog was realized with the Catalog Lightbox display format from the Google Display Network.

The Catalog Lightbox ads are implemented as in-page ads on the Web site. After a three-second mouseover, the advertising medium opened at the center of the screen. This made the Ernsting‘s family Google Catalog visible and, due to the prominent positioning on screen, monopolized the users’ attention. The three-second delay reduced the numbers of unintentional mouseovers.

As the catalog only had to be prepared in PDF format for browsing and compensation was on a cost per engagement basis – i.e. whenever a user opened the medium with a three-second mouseover – the costs and pricing structure for this display format were easily manageable for Ernsting’s family. Another argument for the use of the Catalog Lightboxes was that the products in the catalog could be cross-linked to the corresponding product pages in the online store and also offered the capability of displaying double-page spreads to cater for the fact that outfits in the print catalog were frequently presented on double pages. In addition to the compilation of the advertising media set, which was configured to be performance-dependent, blueSummit also provided tracking and targeting oriented on the catalog content.


The implementation of the Catalog Lightbox display format was enormously successful. Reach figures rose to up to 20 million impressions The average opening rate was 2.5%, and the advertising medium even registered up to 530,000 openings. On average, users browsed the Lightbox for a period of 20 seconds. The impressive level of interaction with the advertising medium was also clearly reflected in an equally impressive sales ratio in the online store.

average opening rate
users browsed the Lightbox for


With the changeover from Catalog Lightbox to the new Ready Lightbox Ads format, we now had the opportunity to offer users more information than was previously possible with the simple catalog pages. The future will also see the integration of YouTube shorts in the flights. As soon as it is available, a link to the Google Merchant Center will enable us to offer customers a better product experience and make navigation to the product even easier.

CASE STUDY Ernsting’s family


Ernsting‘s family wurde im Jahr 1967 gegründet und gehört heute mit mehr als 1.800 Filialen und fast 11.000 Mitarbeitern zu den zwölf führenden deutschen Textileinzelhändlern. Das Traditionsunternehmen vertreibt Mode, Accessoires und Heimtextilien für die ganze Familie mit dem Schwerpunkt auf Damen und Kinderbekleidung. Seit 2003 betreibt Ernsting‘s family mit der Seite www.ernstings-family.de einen eigenen Online Shop. Für die Vermarktung des Brand und der Produkte ist Ernsting‘s family neben klassischer Werbung, auch in den wichtigsten Online Marketing Kanälen, wie SEA, Affiliate-, Display- und Newsletter-Marketing aktiv. blueSummit und Ernsting‘s family arbeiten seit 2012 erfolgreich im Bereich Performance Marketing zusammen.


HERAUSFORDERUNG

Das stärkste klassische Werbemittel von Ernsting‘s family sind die Kataloge, deren Auflage sich je nach Saison im mehrstelligen Millionen-Bereich bewegt. Jährlich werden über 30 Kataloge mit einen Umfang von bis zu 48 Seiten sowohl über das eigene Filialnetzwerk, als auch über diverse Verteilmedien gestreut. Ziel war und ist es, die Prospekte online noch weiter zu streuen und gleichzeitig die Brand Awareness zu erhöhen.

STRATEGIE

Mit der Aufgabe, den Erfolg der Print-Kataloge auch online fortzuführen, hat blueSummit zunächst Google Catalogs gewählt, um die Printversion eins zu eins im Web abzubilden. Google Catalogs ermöglicht es Endkunden, ihr gewohntes Blättern in Print-Katalogen online fortzuführen. Die Vermarktung des Google Catalogs von Ernsting’s family wurde mit dem Display-Format Catalog Lightbox aus dem Google Display Netzwerk umgesetzt.

Die Catalog Lightbox Anzeigen sind als In-Page-Anzeige auf der Website implementiert. Das Werbemittel öffnet sich nach einem Mouseover innerhalb von drei Sekunden auf der Mitte der Website. Der Google Catalog von Ernsting‘s family wurde dadurch sichtbar und zog, aufgrund der markanten Position, die komplette Aufmerksamkeit auf sich. Durch die Verzögerung von drei Sekunden wurde die Anzahl versehentlicher Mouseovers verringert.

Der Aufwand und die Kostenstruktur für dieses Display Format waren für Ernsting’s family überschaubar, da lediglich die Prospekt-PDF für das Durchblättern aufbereitet werden musste und die Abrechnung auf Basis von Cost-per-Engagement erfolgt, d.h. wenn ein User das Werbemittel durch ein 3-sekündiges Mouseover öffnet. Ein weiteres Argument für die Catalog Lightboxes war, dass die Produkte im Prospekt mit den entsprechenden Produktseiten im Online-Shop verlinkt werden konnten und zudem die Möglichkeit bestand, zweiseitige Formate darzustellen, da auch die Outfits im Print-Katalog häufig auf einer Doppelseite abgebildet werden. blueSummit hat neben der Zusammenstellung des Werbemittel-Sets, welches performanceabhängig festgelegt wurde, sowohl das Tracking als auch das Targeting, orientiert am Kataloginhalt, übernommen.



ERGEBNIS

Der Einsatz des Display Formats Catalog Lightbox war ein großer Erfolg. Die Reichweiten lagen bei bis zu 20 Mio. Impressionen. Die durchschnittliche Öffnungsrate betrug 2,5%, teilweise erzielte das Werbemittel sogar bis zu 530.000 Öffnungen. Im Durchschnitt blätterten die Nutzer 20 Sekunden in der Lightbox. Die hohe Interaktion mit den Werbemitteln wurde auch in einer ebenso guten Abverkaufsquote im Online-Shop deutlich.



20
Impressions
2.5
durchschnittl. Öffnungsrate
20
blätterten die Nutzer in der Lightbox


AUSBLICK

Mit der Umstellung der Catalog Lightbox zu dem neuen Format Ready Lightbox Ads haben wir nun die Möglichkeit neben den reinen Prospektseiten dem User noch mehr Informationen zu bieten. Zukünftig werden auch YouTube-Spots in den Flights integriert. Und sobald verfügbar, wird es auch eine Verknüpfung zum Google Merchant Center geben, um dem Kunden eine bessere Produkt-Erfahrung zu bieten und die Navigation zum Produkt noch weiter zu vereinfachen.