SportScheck is Germany’s leading multichannel specialist retailer for sports equipment and sportswear and caters for almost every kind of sport. The range covers more than 35,000 articles and is available in Germany, Austria, and Switzerland. SportScheck customers can find information and shop not only from themed catalogs and a nationwide network of stores, but also online, at The company, a member of the Otto Group, was founded in 1946 and today has more than 1,600 employees. In spring 2014, SportScheck commissioned blueSummit with the management of Google Shopping campaigns.


The SportScheck online store registers 52 million visits per year. Its products are advertised with various marketing measures, including Google Shopping campaigns. The mission was the development of a comprehensive strategy in the area of product feed optimization in collaboration with the in-house team at SportScheck. The objectives of this were to increase the delivery rate of SportScheck product feeds in Google and generate additional revenue.


As a first step in the collaboration, blueSummit analyzed the status quo of SportScheck’s Google Shopping campaigns. Although SportScheck was already well-placed in rankings, we were able to identify significant potentials for optimization. For example, although the feeds indicated a good database and formatting, there were, however, too many (customer-) specific terms in titles that had too little search volume and some descriptions that did not contain the decisive “money keywords”.

Our measures therefore concentrated on the optimum processing of data feeds, including enrichment with all essential information, and the granular expansion of the campaigns to allow target-oriented management of all products. A series of testing scenarios was also developed with a view to making success measurable at a later stage.

The basis for our optimization measures was laid out in the form of a step-by-step project plan:
1. Radical revision of the feeds to remove factors with negative effects on quality
2. Prioritization and analysis of the product groups for testing
3. Categorization of products into to test and control groups
4. Realization of the previously developed testing scenarios
5. Analysis & drafting of next steps


In the “winter jackets“ example, the products were first assigned to various groups according to size. The relevant keywords were then identified with the aid of Web site data, Google Traffic, and search query reports. In a series of tests, the keywords were placed at various locations in the Titles & Descriptions and the feed content was revised and enriched. The modifications were performed with the aid of FeedDynamix and Productsup technologies.


In the product groups we tested, visibility and sales significantly exceeded the client’s expectations. For example, the visibility in the “winter jackets” category rose by 79% within only a few weeks. At the same time, the strategically important product group showed an increase in sales of 33%. In 2014 alone, all test groups together achieved a 77% increase in visibility and 47% higher sales than was observed in the control groups over the same period of time.


Find out more about our service.

CASE STUDY SPORTSCHECK


SportScheck ist der führende Multichannel-Sportfachhändler Deutschlands; im Bereich Sportausrüstung und -bekleidung wird nahezu jede Sportart bedient. Das Sortiment umfasst mehr als 35.000 Artikel und ist in Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz erhältlich. Neben Themenkatalogen und bundesweiten Filialen können sich SportScheck-Kunden auch online unter sportscheck.com informieren und shoppen. Das zur Otto Group gehörende Unternehmen wurde 1946 gegründet und beschäftigt heute rund 1.600 Mitarbeiter. Im Frühjahr 2014 wurde blueSummit von SportScheck für die Durchführung von Google Shopping Kampagnen beauftragt.


HERAUSFORDERUNG

Der Online-Shop von SportScheck verzeichnet 52 Millionen Visits pro Jahr. Über verschiedene Online Marketing Maßnahmen wird dieser beworben u.a. mit Google Shopping Kampagnen. Ziel war es, in Zusammenarbeit mit dem SportScheck Inhouse-Team, eine umfassende Strategie im Bereich der Produktfeedoptimierung zu entwickeln. Diese sollte sowohl die Auslieferung der SportScheck-Produktfeeds bei Google erhöhen als auch den Umsatz steigern.

STRATEGIE

Zu Beginn der Zusammenarbeit hat blueSummit zunächst den Status Quo der Google Shopping Kampagnen von SportScheck analysiert. Zwar konnte SportScheck bereits eine gute Platzierung verzeichnen, gleichzeitig war jedoch ein signifikantes Optimierungspotenzial erkennbar. So zeigten die Feeds beispielsweise eine gute Datenbasis und Formatierung, allerdings gab es viele (kunden-) spezifische Begriffe im Titel, die wenig Suchvolumen hatten oder manche Descriptions enthielten nicht die entscheidenden „Money Keywords“.

Unsere Maßnahmen umfassten daher eine optimalen Aufbereitung des Datenfeeds inklusive Anreicherung aller notwendigen Informationen sowie den granularen Ausbau der Kampagnen zur zielgerechten Steuerung aller Produkte. Um den Erfolg später messbar zu machen wurden verschiedene Testszenarien ausgearbeitet.

Ein stufenweiser Projektplan stellte die Basis unserer Optimierungsmaßnahmen dar:
1. Grundlegende Bereinigung des Feeds um qualitätsmindernde Faktoren
2. Priorisierung und Analyse der zu testenden Produktgruppen
3. Einteilung der Produkte in Testgruppe und Kontrollgruppe
4. Umsetzung der erarbeiteten Testszenarien
5. Analyse & Ausarbeitung der Next Steps

BEISPIEL WINTERJACKEN:

Bei dem Beispiel „Winterjacken“ wurden die Produkte zunächst in verschiedene Gruppen nach Größen eingeteilt. Mit Hilfe von Websitedaten, Google Traffic Daten und Suchanfragenberichten konnten anschließend die relevanten Suchbegriffe identifiziert werden. In mehreren Testläufen wurden die Keywords an verschiedenen Stellen in den Titles & Descriptions platziert sowie der Feedinhalt überarbeitet und angereichert. Die Anpassung erfolgte mit Hilfe der Technologien FeedDynamix und Productsup.



ERGEBNIS

In den getesteten Produktgruppen lagen die Sichtbarkeit sowie der Umsatz deutlich über den Erwartungen des Kunden. Beispielsweise stieg die Sichtbarkeit im Bereich „Winterjacken“ innerhalb weniger Wochen um 79%. Gleichzeitig erwirtschaftete der strategisch wichtige Produktbereich einen 33% höheren Umsatz. Allein in 2014 erzielten alle Testgruppen zusammen eine 71% höhere Sichtbarkeit sowie 47% mehr Umsatz als die Ausgangsgruppen im gleichen Zeitraum.





SHOPPING & DATEN FEEDS MIT BLUESUMMIT

Erfahren Sie mehr zum Leistungsangebot.

Google Shopping & Daten Feeds mit blueSummit